• English
  • Português
  • Español
Direito e Cidadania para todos

Cultural Policy

Exit "over the counter deals"; enter the government's Culture Policy

National conferences mobilize the artistic community and help set cultural policy guidelines / Photo: Wilson Dias/Agencia BrasilIn 2003, the incoming Lula government found a weak Ministry of Culture, with a tiny budget, and whose activities did not contain public policy components. Despite the size and cultural diversity of the country, the Ministry of Culture was pretty much irrelevant.

It was urgent to create plans, programs and goals to democratize, federalize and take its activities into the countryside. Only then could the state play a really important role in the field of Culture.

With Lula and Dilma, cultural policies were developed and planned based on three dimensions: symbolic, social and economic.

Symbolic, because culture helps us identify ourselves as part of the same nation.
Social, because it is a human need and a basic right along with health, education, food and housing.

Economic, because the creative and cultural economy is present every day, being funded, ensuring jobs and generating income for millions of Brazilians.

With the budget boost and a new political direction, the federal government now plays a much more active role in the cultural scene, going well beyond simply offering tax exemptions for production projects. The objective now is to conduct a policy to promote and support cultural production, instead of just "an over the counter deals policy."


Cultural policy goes beyond Rio and São Paulo in spreads throughout Brazil

With Lula and Dilma, the Ministry of Culture began to explore the diversity of Brazil's cultural identity. Cultural policy was extended from north to south, east to west, involving previously ignored producers and cultural managers, and ensuring access to culture for millions of Brazilians who had risen in social terms in recent years.

The actions are innovative and being carried out in areas traditionally served by the federal government, such as movies, theater, dance and literature, but also in sectors that have been deprived of state attention: visual arts, museums, popular culture, design, fashion, crafts and the circus, among others.

National Culture System will use federal funding for projects in more than 5,000 cities

In 2012, through Constitutional Amendment No. 71, the National Culture System (SNC) became part of the Federal Constitution (Article 216-A). A policy of a structuring government, which will invest federal funds for cultural projects in more than 5,000 municipalities, the SNC requires that all levels of government must create management bodies for culture; cultural policy advice; culture conferences; intergovernmental commissions; cultural plans; financing systems for culture; cultural information systems and indicators; training programs in the field of culture; and cultural sector systems.

Joining the National Culture System is a voluntary act of the various agents of government. The states and municipalities willing to join the SNC sign the Federal government's Federative Cooperation Agreement, which establishes the commitments between the parties for the system's effective implementation. All states of the Federation and nearly 50% of the municipalities are already integrated into the SNC.

Investment in an increasingly creative Brazil

Created in 2012 by the Dilma government, the Creative Economy Secretariat's (SEC) mission is to help culture become part of a strategic public policy underpinning in the development of the Brazilian state, prioritizing support and encouragement of professionals and micro and small creative projects.

With investments of R$ 40 million, Creative Brazil Incubator Network Program offers free courses and consulting, strategic planning, accounting advice, legal and communications, marketing, project design, fundraising and continuous monitoring services.

In the first phase, the Creative Brazil Incubator Network will be taken to 12 states (Acre, Bahia, Ceará, Goiás, Mato Grosso, Minas Gerais, Pará, Paraná, Pernambuco, Rio de Janeiro, Rio Grande do Norte, Rio Grande do Sul) and the Federal District.